Overcoming Resistance

Having started this blog in giddy excitement, I find myself resistant to using it – in fact, I haven’t opened it again in 2012.

Yesterday, I found myself telling Year 1 Cert Ed/PGCE students that I was “frightened of blogging.”  Laura asked me why.  We’d been exploring untrue limiting assumptions that morning, so I mentally phrased a question for myself:

“What am I assuming that’s causing me to be frightened of blogging?”

The answer wasn’t far away – the dominating, untrue, limiting assumption:  “No-one wants to read what I write.”

Quick as a flash, James said:  “You write on Facebook and we all want to read that.”  He was right.  I don’t think twice about tweeting or posting on Facebook.  I was left with no logical defence but the resistance was still there.

Trying again with the Thinking Environment approach (www.timetothink.com) I might try to ask myself another question:

“It’s possibly true that no-one wants to read what I write.  So what am I assuming that causes that assumption to make me frightened of blogging?”

Again the answer presented itself quickly:  “It would be a waste of time.”  Even as my brain was processing this I knew that the answer was a firm, heartfelt, “NO!”  It would not be a waste of time to blog into an unread ether, even if that was the case.  The purpose of the blog had always been to educate myself primarily, to shape my thoughts and practice so that I could better support others to learn.

So here I am, my determination reinvigorated.  Let’s see what happens.  And thanks to Northern College’s Year 1 Certs students for inspiring this thinking.

Author: Lou Mycroft

Hard working educator with passionate interest in Teaching for a Social Purpose. Everything I've learned is through observing colleagues and students, all of whom are committed to changing the world. And reading interesting stuff. I work at The Northern College in Barnsley and its mission (and thirty-eight year history) of social transformation makes it an ideal base to face the challenges of teaching adults in 21st century England.

4 thoughts on “Overcoming Resistance”

  1. Hi Lou – really brilliant you have got going with your blog – who knows where it will take you now – exciting times. I have just been at the in-laws this weekend and there was a birthday, one of the presents was a book written by Tom Reynolds, Blood, Sweat and Tea which given my previous life working as an Ambulance Technican was very interesting – anyway the point being that he has now written 2 books and this was because he started blogging a few years ago (http://randomreality.blogware.com/blog) and his material is now in published books – then came home and saw you have been blogging too – great stuff.
    I am looking forward to reading all you have posted this weekend.
    P.S. thanks for sponsoring the famiy – training not happening as often as it should!!

  2. Thank you for your comment, Laura! By an amazing synchronicity, I read that book on holiday in Devon last year, loved it, meant to check out the blog and forgot on my return – so thanks for reminding and inspiring me. Being a paramedic was definitely a dream job option for me in younger days had things worked out differently…have a great day x

  3. This sounds a fascinating project, please tell me more. Bye the way Andy from Northern College was very helpful in helping me set up a blog for my Achievers project before I retired from KNH

    1. Philip, I’ll join you to our Facebook group and you can see the whole thing develop in front of your eyes…I may be the person codifying it here, but the Social Purpose model and Community of Praxis approach are collaborative and organic efforts. Lou.

Leave a Reply

